Home  |  Association Officers  |  Association Awards  |  Hall of Fame  |  Section Reps  |  Forms  | Membership

John Mariucci Award
Since 1983 this award has been given to the high school coach of the year as selected by the state's hockey coaches.  The award is given in memory of the great John Mariucci, who was a legend in Minnesota hockey and one of Minnesota's greatest sports figures.

A native of Eveleth, John played for the Chicago Blackhawks at a time when very few Americans were able to play in the National Hockey League.  He later coached the University of Minnesota hockey team for many years, and the hockey arena on the university campus bears his name.  John was a lifelong promoter and supporter of the Minnesota hockey player and remained so until his death in 1987.  Winners of this award are listed in the Hockey Hall of Fame.

2007 AA 2007 A
Wes Bolin, Woodbury Bruce Plante, Hermantown
2006 AA 2006 A
Bruce LaRoque, Grand Rapids Bruce Plante, Hermantown
2005 AA 2005 A
John Humphrey, Tartan Keith Hendrickson, Virginia
2004 AA 2004 A
  Todd Weisjahn, Orno
2003 AA 2003 A
Steve Sertich, Roseville Chris Lonke, Simley
2002 AA 2002 A
Tom Saterdalen, Bloomington Jefferson George Nemanich, Red Wing
2001 AA 2001 A
Bruce Johnson, Armstrong Jay Ness, Rochester Lourdes
2000 AA 2000 A
Steve Larson, Blaine Sheldon Weston, Sauk Rapids
1999 AA 1999 A
Bruce Olson, Roseau Mike Guzzo, Silver Bay
1998 AA 1998 A
Bruce Olson, Roseau Bruce Plante, Hermantown
1997 AA 1997 A
Mark Decenzo, Hibbing George Nemanich, Red Wing
1996 AA 1996 A
Bart Larson, Edina Cary Eades, Warroad
1995 AA 1995 A
Earnest "Bucky" Kending, St. Paul Johnson Steve "Moose" Younghans, St. Paul Johnson Todd Grina, Hutchinson
1994 AA 1994 A
Russ Welch, South St. Paul Shawn Anderson, Farmington
1993 1992
Tom Saterdalen, Bloomington Jefferson Terry Cullen, Moorhead
1991 1990
Jeff Whisler, Hill-Murray Lyn Ellingson, Grand Rapids
1989 1988
Bill Vukonich, Duluth Denfeld Bill Olson, Hibbing
1987 1986
Bob Gernander, Greenway/Coleraine Tom Osiecki, Burnsville
1985 1984
Larry Ross, International Falls Jerry Peterson, Bloomington Kennedy


Larry Ross, International Falls

Copyright 2007 MHCA. All rights reserved.


John Mariucci Award